Posted in organization

Organization in the classroom, part 1

I’ve mentioned quite a few times that I love being organized. For some reason it doesn’t translate to my home but in my classroom, there is a place for everything. Today I wanted to show what that looks like in my office area. 

I’m lucky enough to have an office area that is completely separate from my classroom. It’s very spacious, but when I first moved in that meant I had a lot of junk and clutter taking up space. Last spring I did some deep cleaning and now it looks much better. 

First up is my new teacher toolbox:


This is going to be great for me, my aide and any volunteers to my classroom. I got the box from Lowe’s and spray painted it; the labels are from Teach Create Motivate.

I have a bookshelf full of binders – KinderMath, monthly poetry units, monthly copies… I plan on going through them and using my new binder covers and spine labels to jazz up the ones that are rather plain. 


Here’s how I store my read alouds. The first 2 buckets are empty because they’re out on display in my room. I was fortunate to get the boxes from school. 

Here are my monthly centers. In each box are all the different activities my kids would do each month. Every year I add more activities (and take out old ones), especially since skill levels change from year to year. Having them all together for the month makes it easy for me to plan. 

And finally, here are my tubs for each month, which hold seasonal student books and decorations. Sometimes I have more than 1 tub for each month because I just have too many books!

So that’s my office area. I love having it organized, it really helps me find what I need quickly and feel comfortable in my space. 

Leave a Reply

