Posted in reading

What I’ve been reading this summer…

My favorite thing to do, what I’ve loved to do since I can remember, is read. It’s hard to read during the school year – there’s always something to prep, something to cut or laminate, and cutting/laminating + reading don’t really go well together. 
But summer, ah summer… That’s when I get to relax and read. So far in 2016 I’ve read a total of 20 books and 14 of those have been while on summer break. I think I’m doing summer break right. 🙂
Anyway, I wanted to share some of my favorite reads from this summer so far: 

It’s hard to explain why I loved Violent Ends because it’s not really a book to love. It tells the story of a school shooting, but the twist is that it’s from the perspective of many different characters… AND each perspective is told by a different author. At first it was hard for me to go from chapter to chapter, character to character but mostly because sometimes I wished the chapters were longer or that I could’ve stayed with a character longer. 

Lilac Girls is another book where it feels wrong to say I loved it but I did. This story is based on real people/events and is from the perspective of 3 different characters over a period of years surrounding/during WWII: Caroline, a socialite in New York, Kasia, a Polish teenager held in a concentration camp and Herta, a concentration camp doctor. The experiments that are performed were hard to stomach (although they weren’t too much of the book) and even harder to read about once I learned that they actually took place. This book was a hard one to put down and I was sad to see it end. 

Ah, the return of Harry Potter. I was so excited to see another book, although it was a change of pace since it was formatted as a play and not written by J.K. Rowling. That said, the essence of the characters was definitely there and it was wonderful to return to that magical world, if only for a brief time. 

I flew through The Last One, I was completely hooked by 2% in. This is a story of some contestants on a Survivor style reality show that don’t realize that something horrible has happened to a lot of the population. The story line did a lot of flashbacks, which took me out of the action quite a bit, but I was on the edge of my seat for the very end, quite literally holding my breath. 
So that’s some of the books I’ve read this summer. I wonder how many more I’ll get to read, I have about 2 1/2 weeks left of summer break. 

One thought on “What I’ve been reading this summer…

  1. It’s great that you enjoy reading. Your enthusiasm for books undoubtedly influences your students. I was particularly interested to read about the new Harry Potter. I wasn’t sure how interested I was after finding out about the script format, but you have convinced me that it’s worth a read. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

