Posted in teaching

The best deal I’ve found this summer.

There’s something about printing in color that is just… wonderful. I print a lot in color: I find cute center activities, charts… I print out word wall cards, labels… the list keeps going. But ink is expensive. I did the math that in 2015 I spent over $300 on ink alone. And that’s even with some people donating ink to me. From January to June of this year, I had already spent $90. That’s too much money.

But just when I had resigned myself to always printing on draft mode/seeing streaks of color on pages, I learned about HP Instant Ink.

So I’d like to introduce you to my new baby:

IMG_6144

I needed a new printer because my old one wasn’t instant ink ready. So I found this one for a good deal on Amazon (sometimes it can be more expensive, I paid $140) and it came with a $120 prepaid instant ink card = a year’s worth of ink!

IMG_5700Bay is pretty excited about it too. Obviously.

The way it works is this: you need an HP instant ink ready compatible printer. It needs to connect to the internet, to let HP know when you are running low on ink. When it senses that, it mails you ink cartridges. You pay a flat monthly fee that is dependent on how much paper you print.

ink plans

Now, a page is a page, it doesn’t matter if it’s color or black and white, if it’s a full photo or 2 words. Since I have a year’s worth of free ink, I went with the $9.99 plan. So far it looks like I might have maybe 50 pages or so that’ll roll over to the next month – I expected to print a lot for back to school. Maybe next summer I’ll chill and print less. Then I can change to a lower plan, at no cost.

Now does it sound like a great deal to you? Too good to be true? I know, right? Except it’s the real deal. You don’t pay any extra fees unless you go over your limit. Every time you get sent ink, you aren’t charged anything and they include a prepaid envelope to mail back your old cartridge for recycling.

IMG_5706

I have been printing a ton ever since I got my printer, and in full glorious color! Look how pretty that looks, no draft mode for me anymore! It’s a wonderful thing.

Interested in signing up? First check to see if your printer is compatible – I think it can be a good deal to just get a new printer. I did and I can definitely say it’s worth it for me.

instant ink printers

Then visit this link to sign up. At the end, it will ask you for a referral code. Make sure you don’t miss that box because I’m about to give you 2 codes to get you 7 extra free months of ink. I know, awesome! First, enter code 6freeink to get 6 extra months. Then you can enter another referral code, if you use the code gnpgC, we will both get an extra free month.

Then you can be printing everything to your heart’s desire. I know I have been! And then I remember I have to laminate and cut everything and it’s a bit overwhelming. But totally worth it.

Let me know if you have any questions, I’d love to help out!

One thought on “The best deal I’ve found this summer.

Leave a Reply

